University Honors Prof. Kerri Scott with Frist Service Award for Assistance to Students

Following glowing letters of recommendation from students, parents and colleagues, University of Mississippi Chemistry Professor Kerri Scott has been chosen to receive a prestigious honor for her exceptional service.  The Thomas Frist Student Service Awards are presented annually to one faculty member and one staff member for going the extra mile in dedication and service to students. Examples of exemplary service include student guidance and mentorship above and beyond those expected of faculty and staff as part of their job responsibilities.  Kerri Scott, instructional associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry and associate director of forensic chemistry, is the faculty honoree. 

“Our university is truly a special place because of our steadfast commitment to student engagement and success,” Chancellor Jeffrey Vitter said. “Across our campus, we have exceptional faculty and staff who go above and beyond to put our students first.

Dr. Kerri Scott

Any full-time faculty or staff member, except previous winners, is eligible for the award, which includes a $1,000 prize and a plaque. They will also be acknowledged May 12 during the university’s main Commencement ceremony.

“We had an outstanding group of nominees with many deserving nominees in each category,” said Brett Cantrell, assistant professor of accountancy. “For the faculty award, Dr. Scott stood out for the impact her advising had on students not just academically, but intra-personally.

Scott, who had multiple nomination letters written by both students and faculty, was commended by a colleague for “her commitment to students and their success.”

One student, who never took a course from Scott, wrote that, “There was one point she found me crying over a quantitative analysis exam, and Dr. Scott found time to calm me down and give me a chemistry beaker mug to encourage me to keep me moving forward. She helped me come up with an honors undergraduate research project and helped me with the data processing for my thesis.”

“I am incredibly lucky to have a job where I get to help others achieve their dreams,” Scott said. “The students keep me young, on my toes and challenged. They never let me forget that the world is full of amazing potential and greatness.”

The Frist Student Service Awards were established with a $50,000 gift from the late Dr. Thomas F. Frist of Nashville, a 1930 UM graduate. Previous winners of the Frist Award include faculty members Luca Bombelli, Denis Goulet, Aileen Ajootian, Don Cole, Charles Eagles, Ellen Meacham, Terry Panhorst, Ken Sufka, Eric Weber, Donald Dyer and Robert Brown; and staff members Anne McCauley, Carol Forsythe, Thelma Curry, Dewey Knight, Valeria Ross, Marc Showalter, Linda Spargo and Whitman Smith.

See for the original story by .