Three Chemistry Majors Named 2019-20 UM Hall of Fame Inductees

OXFORD, Miss. – Three University of Mississippi chemistry majors have been inducted into the university’s 2019-20 Hall of Fame, one of the highest honors afforded to students at UM.

The inductees were selected by a committee in accordance with policy developed by the Associated Student Body. Selections are based on outstanding contributions in all aspects of campus life.

This year’s Hall of Fame members from the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry are James “Trip” Johnson, of Dyersburg, Tennessee; Marie “Scout” Treadwell, of Dadeville, Alabama; and Genevieve Verville, of Montgomery, Alabama.

“The 2020 class of Hall of Fame inductees represents a wonderfully diverse, incredibly talented group of students who have each left an indelibly positive mark on the University of Mississippi,” said Brent Marsh, assistant vice chancellor for student affairs and dean of students.

The COVID-19 pandemic caused the in-person Who’s Who Among Students and Hall of Fame ceremony to be cancelled, but the students participated in a Facebook Live Who’s Who ceremony followed by a private Hall of Fame celebration via Zoom.



James ‘Trip’ Johnson

A chemistry major, Johnson is a member of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College. He is an avid runner, and his hobby turned into passion when he participated in the 2019 Great 38 Race benefiting the Chucky Mullins Endowment. Besides his running pursuits, Johnson serves as student director of the Honors College Senate, president of Omicron Delta Kappa and the Columns Society new member education and alumni relations chairs. He has led as a Delta Psi Fraternity secretary, RebelTHON morale captain and Interfraternity Council Rho Alpha. Johnson is a recipient of the Taylor Medal and an inductee of Phi Kappa Phi.



Genevieve Verville

Verville is a chemistry major, published researcher, organic chemistry teaching assistant and supplemental instruction leader. Besides her scholastic accomplishments, she has served in leadership roles on the Associated Student Body, including external executive assistant to the president and Freshman Council mentor. Verville has worked with the Ole Miss Big Event on its executive board and both the Logistics and the Projects and Placements subcommittees. She is on the volunteer conference staff for National Model United Nations.




Marie ‘Scout’ Treadwell

A biochemistry major and a member of the Honors College, Treadwell has held numerous leadership positions. She served as president, vice president and social chairman of the Columns Society, vice president of administration and academic chairman of Delta Delta Delta sorority, an Ole Miss Ambassador and Leadership Council member. Treadwell has also been an active member of the Student Activities Association Pageants Committee, Mortar Board, the Ole Miss Big Event Logistics Executive Subcommittee and the Associated Student Body Freshman Council.