Chemistry Welcomes New Tenure-Track Faculty

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Ole Miss WELCOMES Drs. Davita Watkins and Jonah Jurss, our newest tenure-track assistant professors.   Dr. Watkins, who is an organic chemist, completed her Ph.D. studies at the University of Memphis and postdoctoral studies at the University of Florida. Dr. Watkins research lie in the development of novel functional materials with tunable properties through molecular self-assembly. The well-defined, programmable nanostructured materials produced in my laboratory are designed to be used in a variety of applications which range from therapeutics to electronic devices.  Dr. Jurss, who is an inorganic chemist,  completed his Ph.D. studies at the University of North Carolina and postdoctoral studies at the University of California, Berkeley.  Dr. Jurss research will focus on developing new earth-abundant catalysts for reactions pertinent to solar energy conversion into chemical fuels (i.e. CO2 reduction) as well as for C-H bond functionalization in organic synthesis. Special attention will be given to advancing inorganic systems that operate on electrode surfaces for electrochemical and light-driven catalysis.  Students interested in joining his their research groups may contact the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.