2nd Annual STEM Summit: Forensics & the Future

Sponsored by the University of Mississippi Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry (Forensic Chemistry Program), Department of BioMolecular Sciences, Mississippi State Crime Laboratory, and CAPS-ATL


Thursday, July 17, 2014
12:00 p.m. Check-in: Residential College South

Friday, July 18, 2014
7:00 a.m. Breakfast & Registration: National Center for Natural Product Research (NCNPR)/Thad Cochran Research Center (TCRC) – TCRC 1000 and 1044
8:00 a.m. Welcome & University of Mississippi STEM Initiative: Dr. Maurice Eftink, Associate Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
8:30 a.m. Purpose: Mr. Darrell Davis, Former Director of the DEA South Central Laboratory and CEO/President of the Committee for Action Program Services – Analytical Training Laboratory (CAPS-ATL)
9:15 a.m. Keynote Speaker: Mr. Tucker Carrington, Director of Innocence Project and Professor of Law
10:15 a.m. BREAK
10:30 a.m. Mr. Sam Howell, Director of Mississippi State Crime Laboratory
11:15 a.m. Mississippi State Crime Laboratory Panel
12:00 p.m. LUNCH
1:00 p.m. Board Double Decker for Tours
1:15 p.m. Tour of Marijuana Field and Medicinal Garden: Mr. Don Stanford, Assistant Director of The Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences
2:15 p.m. University/Oxford Tour
3:45 p.m. Overview of UM Forensic Chemistry Program: Dr. Murrell Godfrey, Director of Forensic Chemistry and Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
4:00 p.m. Agency Panel Discussion: Dr. Candace Bridge, Army Crime Laboratory, Mr. Brock Sain (TBI), Mr. Darrell Davis (DEA – retired), John LaVoie (FBI – retired), Mr. Lucas Marshall, Aegis Analytical Laboratory, and Mr. Johnnie Bennett, MS Crime Laboratory
6:00 p.m.- Until- Social at Irie on the Square

Saturday, July 19, 2014
National Center for Natural Product Research (NCNPR)/Thad Cochran Research Center (TCRC) – TCRC 1000 and 1044
7:30 a.m. Breakfast
8:00 a.m. Keynote Speaker: Dr. Christopher McCurdy, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacology and Research Professor in the Research Institute in Pharmaceutical Sciences
9:00 a.m. UM STEM Research Panel Representatives: Drs. Jim Cizdziel, David Colby, Bonnie Avery, Tracy Brooks, John Rimoldi, and Tyrus McCarty.
10:00 a.m. GK-12 Panel:
Representatives from: Oxford, Lafayette, Mississippi School for Math and Science, etc.
10:45 a.m.: BREAK
11:00 a.m. STEM Statistics: Dr. Kerri Scott, Associate Director of Forensic Chemistry
11:30 a.m. Closing Remarks: Mr. Darrell Davis
12:00 p.m. ADJOURNED