Undergraduate Research Opportunities

The following chemistry and biochemistry professors offer undergraduate research opportunities. Undergraduate students can click on each individual for more information. Students can also click here to search for completed and current undergraduate research projects.
 
Safo AboakuSafo Aboaku
333 Coulter Hall
662-915-4038
saboaku@olemiss.edu

Effective Chemistry Instruction, Magnetostructural Studies of Organic Magnets, Hydrogen Bonding
 
Saumen Chakraborty
305 Coulter Hall
662-915-2528
saumenc@olemiss.edu

Metalloproteins, Enzymatic fuel cells, Bio-inspired C-H activation, Self-assembly, Foldamers, Nanoclusters, Biological Electron Transfer
 
James Cizdziel
380 Coulter Hall
662-915-1814
cizdziel@olemiss.edu

Biogeochemical Cycling of Mercury, Radioactivity, Environmental Monitoring and Fingerprinting, Analytical Method Development, Forensic Chemistry
 
fi-clelandWalter Cleland
311 Coulter Hall
662-915-5422
cleland@olemiss.edu

Metal Centers of Metalloenzymes and Proteins, Nickel-containing Hydrogenases and Urease, Metal Sulfur Clusters, Self-assembled Monolayers
 
Amala Dass Assistant ProfessorAmala Dass
352 Coulter Hall
662-915-1826
amal@olemiss.edu

Gold Nanoparticles, Nanomaterials, Analytical Chemistry, Mass Spectrometry, Inorganic, Nanoalloys, X-ray diffraction, HR-TEM
 
Steven Davis ProfessorSteven Davis
279 Coulter Hall
662-915-5981
davis@olemiss.edu

Computational Chemistry
 
Jared Delcamp Assistant ProfessorJared Delcamp
481 Coulter Hall
662-915-5332
delcamp@olemiss.edu

Organic Chemistry, Energy Production, Solar Cells, Photocatalysis, Solar Fuel Production, Physical Organic Chemistry, CO2 Reduction
 
Ryan Fortenberry, Assistant ProfessorRyan Fortenberry
280 Coulter Hall
662-915-1687
r410@olemiss.edu

Astrochemistry, Theoretical Chemistry, Radicals, Anions, Noble Gas Molecules, Sulfur Species, Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons, Premineral Molecules, Science Communication
 
Murrell GodfreyMurrell Godfrey
115 Coulter Hall
662-915-5143
mgodfrey@olemiss.edu

Drug Analysis, Mechanism of Drug-Nucleic Acid Interactions, Nucleic Acid Chemistry
 
Nathan Hammer, Assistant ProfessorNathan Hammer
180 Coulter Hall
662-915-3989
nhammer@olemiss.edu

Spectroscopy, energy and charge transfer, physical properties and structure of single molecules and small clusters of molecules and ions
 
Charles Hussey Professor and ChairCharles Hussey
280 Coulter Hall
662-915-7301
chclh@olemiss.edu

Electrochemistry, Room-Temperature Ionic Liquids, Electrodeposition, Transition Metals, Spent Nuclear Fuel and Radioactive Fuel-Processing Waste

Dr. JurssJonah W. Jurss
379 Coulter Hall
662-915-2003
jwjurss@olemiss.edu

Solar energy conversion, artificial photosynthesis (H2O oxidation, CO2 reduction), surface attachment, catalysis, mechanistic studies
 
Daniell MatternDaniell Mattern
411 Coulter Hall
662-915-5335
mattern@olemiss.edu

Organic Donor-sigma-Acceptor molecules, fatty acyl analogs of acarnidine, aromatic iodination
 
Susan PedigoSusan Pedigo
179 Coulter Hall
662-915-5328
spedigo@olemiss.edu

Biochemistry, stability, calcium binding and dimerization of cadherins
 
Jason RitchieJason Ritchie
309 Coulter Hall
662-915-5329
jritchie@olemiss.edu

Polymeric Electrolytes, Proton Exchange Membrane (PEM) Fuel Cell Electrolytes, Solid Lithium Ion Conducting Polymer Electrolytes
 
GeraldGerald Rowland
105 Coulter Hall
662-915-2781
rowland@olemiss.edu

Organic synthesis
 
Kerri ScottKerri Scott
332 Coulter Hall
662-915-5334
kscott@olemiss.edu

Chemical Education
 
Dr. TschumperGregory Tschumper
281 Coulter Hall
662-915-1687
tschumpr@olemiss.edu

physical chemistry, theoretical chemistry, computational chemistry, non-covalent interactions, hydrogen bonding, van der Waals forces
 
Randy Wadkins, Associate Professor of Chemistry &amp, BiochemistryRandy Wadkins
409 Coulter Hall
662-915-7732
rwadkins@olemiss.edu

Biophysical chemistry, molecular dynamics, fluorescence microscopy and imaging, DNA structure and structural transitions, biosensors
 
Davita WatkinsDavita Watkins
480 Coulter Hall
662-915-5337
dwatkins@olemiss.edu

Materials & Supramolecular Chemistry, Organic Electronics, Noncovalent Interactions, Semiconductors, Biomaterials, Optical Electronic, Smart Materials, Conjugated Nanostructures
 
John WigintonJohn Wiginton
223A Coulter Hall
662-915-1553
jfwigint@olemiss.edu

Chemical Education
 
Yudong Zhou
Visiting Associate Professor
130 Coulter Hall
662-915-2215
ydzhou@olemiss.edu

Biochemistry, Anti-Cancer Drug Discovery